Your Bank

It was in 1965; an enthusiastic band of 27, comprising of merchants, industrialists and agriculturists, thought of starting an Urban Co-operative Bank – a bank which would be “our own Bank” to contribute its mite to begin with to the developments of the northern region of Goa and later to spread its mantle of cooperation to the southern region.
The formation and registration of The Mapusa Urban Co-operative Bank Ltd., was the result of the enthusiastic work of those 27 enthusiastic persons and it was due to their unsparing efforts and the fullest cooperation of the Registrar of Cooperative Societies, Goa, Daman & Diu that we were lucky enough to celebrate the opening of the Bank on an auspicious day of Gudhipadwa (23.03.1966) at the hands of his Excellency Shri K. D. Damle the then Lt. Governor of Goa, Daman & Diu and under the presidentship of the Hon. Shri Tony Fernandes, Minister for Industries, Law and Labour, Government of Goa, Daman & Diu.
The following were the promoters of the Bank:

  • Shri Purushottam V. Prabhu Walavalkar – Chief Promoter
  • Shri Baba Hiru Naik
  • Shri Bhagwant V. Prabhu Parrikar
  • Shri Purushottam Bhagwant Parrikar
  • Shri Mahadev Pundalik Kamat Dhakankar
  • Shri Vinayak Pundalik Kamat Dhakankar
  • Shri Gopalkrishna Vithal Prabhu Parrikar
  • Shri Vyankatesh Vithal Prabhu Parrikar
  • Shri Vinayak Vithal Prabhu Parrikar
  • Shri Janardan Dattatraya Zarapkar
  • Shri Vassant Uttam Joshi
  • Shri Hari Nilkanth Falari
  • Shri Raghuvir Xanu Pankar
  • Shri Gajanan Xanu Pankar
  • Shri Pandurang Dattaram Pankar
  • Shri Vinayak Ramchandra Naik
  • Shri Shripad Srikrishna Prabhu Salgaonkar
  • Shri Anil Shantaram Kamat
  • Shri Vinayak Dattaram Sawkar
  • Shri Diogo Joao Sequeira
  • Shri Gopal Mangesh Naik
  • Shri Ramkrishna Mangesh Naik
  • Shri Prabhakar Shivram Pankar
  • Shri Dattaram Keshav Mantravadi
  • Shri Lavachandra Dattaram Gawandalkar
  • Shri Clement Piedade D’Souza
  • Shri Raghuvir Narayan Bodakay

The first members of the Board of Directors were: (19.02.1966 to 02.01.1973)

  • Shri Baba Hiru Naik – Chairman
  • Shri Purushottam V. P. Walawalkar – Vice Chairman
  • Shri Jagannath Waman Khalap – Director
  • Shri Gopal Krishna V. P. Parrikar – Director
  • Shri Gopal M. Naik – Director
  • Shri Dattaram K. Mantravadi – Director
  • Shri Lavachandra D. Gawandalkar – Director
  • Shri Pandurang D. Pankar – Director
  • Shri Janardan D. Zarapkar – Director
  • Shri Jaysing A. Rane – Nominee of Apex Bank

Past Chairmen

Sr.No. Name Period
1. Shri Babu Hiru Naik 19.02.1966 to 02.01.1973
2. Shri Manohar G. S. Usgaonkar 02.01.1973 to 11.01.1979
3. Adv. Ramakant D. Khalap 11.01.1979 to 04.05.1985

23.05.1988 to 18.01.1993

18.01.1993 to 29.11.1997

29.11.1997 to 26.11.2000

26.11.2000 to 22.07.2002

4. Shri Vassudev D. Shirodkar 04.05.1985 to 23.05.1988
5. Adv. Francis D’Souza 22.07.2002 to 19.08.2002
6. Shri Alban Couto (Administrator)

Shri Vassudeo B. Prabhu Verlekar (Administrator)

01.10.2002 to 19.11.2002

01.10.2002 to 24.05.2005

7. Shri Mohandas V. Ramdas (Administrator) 25.05.2005 to 22.07.2005
8. Adv. Ramakant D. Khalap 23.07.2005 to 19.07.2010

20.07.2010 till date